Delicate Omens


Official release: October 6, 2019 Carmen Maret – flute, alto flute, piccolo Andrew Bergeron – guitar All compositions by Andrew Bergeron & Carmen Maret

SKU: FM02 Categories: , Tag:


Flutist Carmen Maret and guitarist Andrew Bergeron, the husband-and-wife duo “daring in self-written music” (American Record Guide) continue to carve out their uncommon niche in the classical music world as performers who are also composers. The Folias Duo’s newest release of all original music, Delicate Omens, is a work that is the artistic culmination of seventeen years of traveling, performing, and writing by this spirited Michigan based flute and guitar duo.  Delicate Omens, the duo’s seventh album and sophomore release on their own Folias Music label, comprises five world premiere recordings of compositions all written in rustic cabins during the duo’s travels in the United States and Canada. Bergeron’s Emerson, is a mysterious three movement work for alto flute and guitar inspired by essays of Ralph Waldo Emerson. Maret’s Creole Ballet, a set of six stylized dances, reflect the duo’s experience as tango dancers and their love of Argentine folk music. Bergeron’s Uncompahgre, a three movement work inspired by the area of the same name in Southern Colorado, showcases both Bergeron and Maret’s virtuosity on their respective instruments. To end the album, Bergeron performs his solo guitar composition that musically depicts the duality of fantasy and reality of “Don Quixote” which is followed by Maret’s jazz-influenced, Angel Forever for alto flute and guitar, that she describes as, “if Pat Metheny and Astor Piazzolla walked into a bar together.”   All compositions by Andrew Bergeron & Carmen Maret Published by Folias Music (ASCAP) Recorded at Sono Luminus Studios May 11-12, 2019 in Boyce, Virginia Audio production and editing by Dan Merceruio Engineered and mastered by Daniel Shores Produced by Andrew Bergeron & Carmen Maret Package Design & Photos by Carmen Maret Cover art by Alynn Guerra Commissioned by Folias Music

Delicate Omens, “These two artists are top talents, almost singular within contemporary flute and guitar ensembles.”

Flutist Quarterly – Fall 2020

“The recording exudes a magnificent clarity” “Immersing themselves in such manner fostered connection and contemplation in equal measure, the outcome compositions of genuine, elemental character.” –Textura on Delicate Omens 2019 // Read More

“The recording is exemplary in balancing the two instruments. This enjoyable album gives a strong taste of the duo’s musical and literary interests and enthusiasms.”

–Music Web International on Delicate Omens 2019 // Read More


Delicate Omens – Track Listing

Emerson (14:41) Andrew Bergeron
1. I. Lords of Life (5:24)
2. II. Delicate Omens (4:29)
3. III. Moody Child (4:48) for alto flute and guitar

Creole Ballet (12:02) Carmen Maret
4. I. Milonga (2:11)
5. II. Zamba I (1:35)
6. III. Canción (2:01)
7. IV. Zamba II (1:29)
8. V. Interlude (1:23)
9. VI. Tango (3:22) for flute and guitar

Uncompahgre (13:07) Andrew Bergeron
10. I. Silver Jack (3:55)
11. II. Cimarron (4:48)
12. III. Courthouse (4:24) for flute, alto flute, piccolo and guitar

Quixote (9:40) Andrew Bergeron
13. I. Penance (4:35)
14. II. Chivalry (5:05) for solo guitar

15. Angel Forever (5:39) Carmen Maret for alto flute and guitar

Total Time: 55:09 Official Release: October 6, 2019

PDF Booklet   SaveSave

Additional information


CD, CD + Sheet Music, Digital Download, Limited Edition Library